Christopher Toothaker

Tuesday, March 1, 2011 - 00:00
Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez refused Monday to condemn Libyan leader Moammar Gadhafi and warned the United States was preparing an invasion of the North African country.
Thursday, January 27, 2011 - 00:00
Venezuelan Justice Minister Tareck El Aissami and Colombian Defence Minister Rodrigo Rivera said they would take new action that would help crack down on drug smugglers.
Tuesday, September 28, 2010 - 00:00
Chavez allies see congressional majority cut back
Monday, September 27, 2010 - 00:00
President Hugo Chavez's allies won a strong majority in Venezuela's congress, but lost the two-thirds majority needed to carry out major changes on their own.
Tuesday, September 21, 2010 - 00:00
State television broadcast footage of both suspects, who wore handcuffs and bulletproof vests, as they were escorted to a waiting plane by heavily armed, masked police.
Monday, September 13, 2010 - 00:00
Venezuelan intelligence agents have apprehended three suspected members of a Colombian paramilitary group, including a police officer from a town near the countries' shared border, and seized a weapons cache.
Monday, August 9, 2010 - 00:00
The economy shrank 5.8 percent in the first three months of 2010 from the same period a year earlier.
Thursday, July 29, 2010 - 00:00
Venezuela's socialist president is playing up his dispute with U.S.-allied Colombia in an apparent attempt to rally nationalist sentiment against foreign enemies ahead of legislative elections in September.
Friday, June 25, 2010 - 00:00
Tareck El Aissami held up the arrest of Luis Frank Tello Candelo, 47, better known as "El Negro Frank," as proof of Venezuela's determination to combat organized crime and drug trafficking.
Tuesday, May 18, 2010 - 00:00
Leaders of a leftist party said Monday they won't form an alliance with President Hugo Chavez's governing party for September congressional elections because of the socialist leader's uncompromising attitude.

Pages